国际学习中心

国际关系和国际发展学国际大一项目

双手在软管下方

攻读国际关系和国际发展

国际关系和国际发展学国际大一项目为您升读萨塞克斯大学众多国际关系和国际发展学位开辟途径。学生将探索殖民主义、国际发展、全球事务、国际关系和现代国际体系等学科。

在英语语言和职业技能培训的辅助下,特定学科课程助您胸有成竹地攻读自选学位。

为什么入读我们的国际关系和国际发展学国际大一项目?

选择此预科项目优势众多,学生可直接升入三个升读本科学位之一的二年级。项目优势包括:

  • 萨塞克斯大学的发展研究学在世界排名第 1(2022 年 QS 世界大学学科排名)
  • 97% 的国际关系系学生在获得学位六个月后就业或继续深造(2017 年高等教育毕业生去向调查)
  • 萨塞克斯大学的社会科学在英国排名第 7(2022 年泰晤士高等教育世界大学学科排名)

详细了解国际关系学

如果您有意就读本校国际关系学,请访问专设的国际关系学科页面,详细了解学位选择和相关的职业良机。

学习内容

学术英语技能课程旨在提供语言和相关学术技能方面的全面培训,以便国际学生在大学最大限度地发挥其学术潜力。我们的学术英语课程由英国政府机构 UK ENIC 批准,该机构负责在全球范围内提供有关资格与技能的信息和专家意见。

本课程将培养您的意识和能力,发展一系列语言相关的学术技能,这些技能包括学术写作、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。您还将在学术环境下,明确、自信地学习有效且适当使用语言所需要具备的准确、适度范围的书面和口头语言。

除了课程学习,您还能通过在线学习平台学习,该平台为您提供一系列专门设计的任务和活动,以在课堂外培养和拓展您的语言和学术技能,并让您更好地掌控学习进度。

本课程的目的是介绍现代国际体系的基础支柱之一。内容包括奴隶制、帝国主义、殖民主义、发展和发展中以及后殖民国际关系理论。独立和压迫主题及其对身份认同的影响将贯穿整个课程。

本课程旨在介绍全球南方低收入经济体面临的关键问题。

本课程旨在引领您了解对国际体系的形成起决定性作用的历史事件所涉及的关键问题。课程以回顾城邦体制作为切入点,然后介绍作为国际体系基础的威斯特伐利亚国家体制。它讨论了法西斯主义、共产主义、国际联盟、二战、中国的重新崛起、去殖民化等重要概念。冷战时期和后冷战时期也在探讨之列。课程立足这一视角,探究重大国际事件——了解不同观点及其如何影响对此类事件的解读是社会科学家的一个主要工具。

本课程是对国际大一项目的其他国际关系和国际发展课程的补充。课程意在培养学生在阅读国际关系和国际发展相关的文章课本时运用的技能。课程目标是提高阅读的基本技能,包括如何处理特定文本、注释、总结、评论以及制定各种阅读策略。本课程传授的技能将为大二和大三的学位学习打下坚实基础,这些学习涉及大量的文章。课程也传授了可转移的技能,有助于未来学习任何学科。

本课程的目标是引领您了解全球政治动态。课程将介绍国际政治经济和全球事务涉及的问题和辩论,为理解未来学习中更详细的分析打下基础。课程将展示国家和区域各级政治生活如何影响世界各地的事务和政策。

本课程将带您了解国际关系学习中的基础理论。您也将了解全球体系的历史发展,以及批判分析该领域的问题和辩论时必须考虑到的相互关联性。课程也将介绍相关的关键概念。

本课程意在介绍国际发展领域内的一些重要思想家的生平与工作事迹。该领域兴起于半个世纪前的去殖民化时代,如今又强调减贫,吸引了来自多元多学科背景和地域的思想家和实践者。

萨塞克斯大学学位

完成本课程后,可升读下列本科学位二年级(须取得规定的分数)。列出的学位和分数只适用于 2022/2023 年入学的学生,而且可能会有所变动。

入学要求

了解国际关系和国际发展学国际大一项目的入学要求。

英语课程

需要提升您的英语水平? 您可以在国际学习中心学习一系列英语语言课程。

查看我们的英语课程

费用

详细了解课程学费以及就读萨塞克斯大学的任何额外费用。

国际关系和国际发展课程费用

International Study Centre

International Year One in International Relations and International Development

Hands under hose

Studying International Relations and International Development

The International Year One in International Relations and International Development is your route to a range of International Relations and International Development degrees at the University of Sussex. You will explore subjects such as colonialism, international development, global affairs, international relations and the modern international system.

Along with English language and career skills training, your subject-specific modules will fully prepare you to study your chosen degree.

Why study the International Year One in International Relations and International Development with us?

There are many reasons to study this preparational programme and progress straight to the second year of one of three progressive undergraduate degrees. These include:

  • The University of Sussex is ranked 1st in the world for Development Studies (QS World University Rankings by Subject 2022)
  • 97% of Department of International Relations students were in work or further study six months after completing their degrees (Destinations of Leavers from Higher Education Survey 2017)
  • The university is ranked 10th in the UK for Social Sciences (The Times Higher Education World University Rankings by Subject 2023)

Discover more about International Relations

If you're interested in studying international relations at university, read more about your degree options and related career opportunities on our dedicated International Relations subject page.

What you’ll study

Academic English Skills aims to provide thorough training in the language and related academic skills which will enable international students to best achieve their academic potential at university. Our Academic English programme is validated by UK ENIC, the UK government agency responsible for providing information and expert opinion on qualifications and skills worldwide.

You will develop awareness and competency in a range of language-related academic skills, including the processes of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. You will also develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language required to use language effectively and appropriately, with clarity and confidence in an academic context.

Alongside your classes, your studies will be supported by an online learning platform, providing you with a range of tasks and activities specifically designed to develop and extend your language and academic skills outside the classroom and to give you more control over your own learning.

The purpose of this module is to introduce you to one of the foundation pillars of the modern international system. The content will include slavery, imperialism, colonialism, development and under development and post-colonial IR theory. Themes of independence and oppression and its effects on identity will echo throughout the module.

This module aims to introduce you to the key issues facing low income economies in the global south.

The objective of this module is for you to develop an understanding of the key issues surrounding defining historical occurrences in the shaping of the International system. The course begins with a review of the city state and moves to the introduction of the Westphalian state as the basis of the international system. It discusses key concepts such as fascism, communism, the league of nations, WW2, the re-emergence of China and decolonisation. The cold war and post-cold war periods are also explored. Major international events are examined from the point of view that understanding varying perspectives and how they influence interpretation of these events is a major tool for social scientists.

This module is designed to complement the other International Relations and International Development modules in International Year One. The aim of the module is to develop skills which students can utilise when reading articles and text books specifically related to IR and ID. The objective of this module is to advance the basic skills of how to engage with a particular text, annotating, summarising, critical review and developing various reading strategies. The skills learnt in this module will provide a strong foundation for Years 2 and 3 of degree studies which involve engaging with a significant number of articles. The module also provides transferrable skills which can be used in any discipline in future studies.

The objective of this module is for you to develop an appreciation of the dynamics at play in global politics. Issues and debates which inform international political economy and global affairs will be introduced as a foundation for understanding more detailed analysis in future studies. The module will demonstrate how political life at all levels, both nationally and regionally, influences affairs and policy around the world.

This module will acquaint you with the theories which form the basis of International Relations study. You will also be introduced to the historical development of the Global system and the inter relatedness which critical analysis of issues and debates in the field must take into account. Key concepts will also be delivered.

The aim of this module is to introduce you to the life and work of some of the seminal thinkers in the field of International Development. With its emergence during the era of decolonisation half a century ago to its contemporary emphasis on poverty reduction, the field has attracted thinkers and practitioners from diverse multidisciplinary backgrounds and geographical regions.

Your degree at Sussex

This course can lead to the second year of an undergraduate degree listed below (subject to meeting the grades outlined). The degrees and grades listed are valid for 2022/23 intakes only and are subject to change.

Degree Programme NameAwardOverall GradeEnglish GradeGrade Module
No Results

Entry requirements

Discover the entry requirements for studying the International Year One in International Relations and International Development.

Check your entry requirements

English Courses

Need to improve your English? You can study a range of English language courses at the International Study Centre.

See our English courses

Prepare for Success

5 weeks before your selected course you will be automatically enrolled in our Prepare for Success online programme in order to help you get everything you need.

Learn more

Fees

Learn more about the tuition fees for your course, as well as any additional costs for studying at Sussex.

International Relations and International Development Fees