国际学习中心

萨塞克斯大学的一名学生在使用显微镜

医学本科预科课程

攻读医学

本预科课程提供了在布莱顿和萨塞克斯医学院攻读医学学士和外科学士 (BM BS) 学位的升读学位选择。

为什么要加入我们?

通过该预科课程,您可以选择升读一系列本科学位,此外,值得您选择的理由还有很多。课程优势包括:

  • 布莱顿和萨塞克斯医学院在英国 60 所年轻大学中排名第 2(2023 年年轻大学排名)
  • 您可以在第四年开展自己的研究项目,为研究做出贡献,并在毕业前发表论文。
  • 五年制医学学位由布莱顿大学和萨塞克斯大学联合开设,授予医学学士和外科学士 (BM BS) 学位。

从本科预科课程升读医学学士和外科学士

本科预科课程 - 医学方向提供了在布莱顿和萨塞克斯医学院攻读医学学士和外科学士 (BM BS) 学位的升读学位选择。该课程要求严苛,学生除了要达到所有课程的最低分数要求外,还需满足其他升学标准,例如接受布莱顿和萨塞克斯医学院的面试。如需获得完整信息,请参阅下方的升学信息。

医学学士和外科学士是五年制的医学学位,旨在帮助学生成为一名技能卓越、积极进取的医生,让学生能够致力于追求高水平的临床实践、职业素养和患者护理。

升读信息

在萨塞克斯大学国际学习中心学习的第二学期,入选学生将获得面试机会。国际学习中心将帮助您为面试做好准备,确保您能充分把握机会升读布莱顿和萨塞克斯医学院的医学学位课程。

  • 面试是围绕核心主题的多重迷你面试 (MMI),主题包括 NHS 价值观、沟通、同理心和动机等。

除了要通过面试外,您还须满足其他升学标准:

  • 所有学科课程的成绩达到 75%
  • 英语成绩达到 70%,各项英语技能成绩达到 70%(等同于雅思 7.0 分)
  • 有一门课程不及格的学生只能重修一次。有一门以上课程不及格的学生将无法升学。
  • 成功通过 BMAT 考试(国际学习中心将在第一学期帮助学生准备该考试)

未能成功通过面试、但达到升学要求的学生有资格升读萨塞克斯大学的生物医学理学学士学位(荣誉)或医学神经科学理学学士学位(荣誉),并在课程的一年级和三年级结束后根据表现再次获得攻读医学的面试机会。

在萨塞克斯大学攻读生物医学或医学神经科学学位后申请从医

申请流程概述

要开始申请流程,您可以在 1 月份提交针对健康、医学和生命科学本科预科课程的申请和相关支持文件。在这一阶段,您还需要从这一方向中选择第二个学位目标。如果您没有成功获得医学或牙医外科的入读名额,您将能够升读您的第二选择(前提是您需要达到升读的成绩要求)。

我们将对您的申请进行评估;如果符合初步要求,您将收到有条件录取通知书。您必须满足个人陈述和面试要求,并参加 UCAT 情景判断测试,方可获得录取。在此阶段,您将无法确认录取状态。如果申请成功,学生将在申请流程中受邀接受录取。

我们的招生团队将对您的申请进行审核。如果在申请流程中被选中,您将需要提交一份个人陈述。我们的招生团队将为此提供指导。

国际学习中心的学术团队将在 3 月至 4 月期间对所有申请人进行面试。如果未能顺利通过这一阶段,学生将获知他们的选择。

面试将包括:

  • 学习所选科目的动机
  • 对科目的理解
  • 学术背景
  • 任何志愿/带薪实习经历
  • 团队协作经历和责任担当
  • 爱好和兴趣

学生必须参加 UCAT 情景判断测试,才有资格攻读本科预科课程。我们没有最低门槛分数,但是,我们可能会使用 UCAT 分数作为选择流程的一部分。

如果面试成功,我们将邀请您有条件确认入学,但您必须提供合格的英语测试成绩、最高学历证明材料并支付押金。由于学生能够进行有条件确认,我们将填补等候名单上的任何空位。

您将在 9 月*注册入学该课程。

*请注意,对于想要攻读医学和牙医外科的学生,未设置 1 月的入学时间。

学习内容

在为期两学期的本科预科课程中,您将同时学习专门针对所选预科课程的学术课程和必修课程。

您将学习共计七门课程,并获得您选择的升学专业方向所需的 120 学分。

核心课程

学术英语技能课程旨在提供语言和相关学术技能方面的全面培训,以便国际学生在大学最大限度地发挥其学术潜力。我们的学术英语课程由英国政府机构 UK ENIC 批准,该机构负责在全球范围内提供有关资格与技能的信息和专家意见。

本课程将培养一系列与语言相关的学术技能的意识和能力,包括学术写作、有效且广泛的阅读策略、有效参与研讨会和发表学术报告,以及有效听取和记录讲座信息。您还将在学术环境下,明确、自信地学习有效且适当使用语言所需要具备的准确、适度范围的书面和口头语言。

除了课程学习,您还能通过在线学习平台学习,该平台为您提供一系列专门设计的任务和活动,以在课堂外培养和拓展您的语言和学术技能,并让您更好地掌控学习进度。

本课程专为希望进入布莱顿和萨塞克斯医学院 (BSMS) 学习的抱负远大的医学生而设计,旨在为您提供满足医学教育所需的基本知识、技能和态度。从掌握错综复杂的英国国家卫生系统和医疗保健中的伦理因素,到培养批判性思维、有效沟通和反思性实践,本课程将确保您自信地应对竞争激烈的医学院入学流程,并确保您做好充分准备,自信地应对医学生面临的挑战。

本课程旨在为计算机、工程学、生命科学和心理学等多门学科奠定坚实的数学基础。本课程将培养您对代数和微积分等基础知识的信心,为进一步学习做好准备。

在本课程中,您将开始探索生命科学之旅,研究生命基本成分的奥秘,例如碳水化合物、脂质、蛋白质和核酸,同时深入研究细胞呼吸、DNA 复制、基因表达和细胞分裂等复杂的细胞过程。借助实验室课程,您将获得实践专业知识,并在学术写作、数据分析和观察方面磨练关键技能。

在“生物化学和细胞生物学”课程所奠定的基础上,本课程将深入研究遗传学、物种、基因技术、生态学和人类生理学等主题,继续对生命研究进行科学探索。通过参与学习活动,您将掌握文献检索、数据处理和学术写作方面的基本技能,从而能够在萨塞克斯大学及其他大学的学习中取得优异成绩。

本课程旨在为您提供良好的有机化学背景知识,以补充生物化学和细胞生物学课程的研究。它将培养您在实验室基本技术方面的经验,为未来的学习奠定基础。本课程旨在培养批判性思维,促进独立学习和研究。

本课程旨在帮助您充分理解物理化学的基本概念,并积累实验室基本技术的经验,为未来的学习奠定基础。本课程旨在培养批判性思维,促进独立学习和研究。

  • Item href is undefined. Verify item exist in the IA and/or navigation depth.

费用和资金

对于 2023 年 9 月开始攻读医学学士和外科学士 (BM BS) 的学生,国际学生的学费为每年 42,000 英镑。随后几年,2024 年入学的国际学生的学费将每年上涨 7%。

更多信息
咖啡馆里的学生

如何申请

准备好申请了吗? 了解如何提交申请,并详细了解费用、学期日期和入学要求。

在布莱顿面带微笑的萨塞克斯大学毕业生

萨塞克斯大学国际学习中心

在萨塞克斯大学国际学习中心,培养改变世界的能力。提高您的英语水平,培养您的学术技能,为您构建自信,助您成功攻读学位。

一起学习的萨塞克斯大学学生

英语语言课程

通过我们的线上英语语言课程提高您的英语技能,该课程旨在助力国际学生攻读国际学习中心的预科课程。

  • Item href is undefined. Verify item exist in the IA and/or navigation depth.

International Study Centre

A University of Sussex student using a microscope

International Foundation Year - Medicine

Study Medicine

This pathway offers the progression degree option to study Bachelor of Medicine Bachelor of Surgery (BM BS) at Brighton and Sussex Medical School.

Why study with us?

There are many reasons why you may want to study this preparational programme and have the opportunity to progress to a range of undergraduate degrees. These include:

  • Brighton and Sussex Medical School is ranked 2nd out of 60 young universities in the UK (Young University Rankings 2023)
  • You can carry out your own research project in the fourth year, contribute to studies and be published before graduating.
  • The five-year medical degree, awarded jointly by the Universities of Brighton and Sussex, leads to the qualification of Bachelor of Medicine Bachelor of Surgery (BM BS).

Progression from International Foundation Year to BM BS

The International Foundation Year – Medicine pathway offers the progression degree option to study Bachelor of Medicine Bachelor of Surgery (BM BS) at Brighton and Sussex Medical School. This is a highly selective programme and students are expected to meet the minimum grades required on all modules as well as other progression criteria including an interview with Brighton and Sussex Medical School. For full information, see progression information below.

The BM BS is a five-year medical degree course that has been designed to help students become a highly competent, strongly motivated doctor, committed to the highest standards of clinical practice, professionalism and patient care.

Progression information

Selected students will be offered a guaranteed interview during the second semester of your studies at the University of Sussex International Study Centre. The ISC will prepare you for your guaranteed interview ensuring that you have the best opportunity possible in which to secure progression to Brighton and Sussex Medical School on a medical degree course.

  • Interviews are Multiple Mini Interviews (MMI) around core themes e.g., NHS values, communication, empathy and motivation.

As well as a successful interview, you will also have to meet other progression criteria to progress:

  • 75% in all academic subject modules
  • 70% in English and 70% in each English skill (IELTS 7.0 equivalent) 
  • Students who fail one module will be allowed one resit only. Students who fail more than one module will not progress.

Students who are not successful at the interview will be eligible to progress to BSc (Hons) Biomedical Science or BSc (Hons) Medical Neuroscience at the University of Sussex, providing progression requirements are met, and may be given further interviews to study medicine after Year 1 and Year 3 of these courses, based on their performance.

Applying for medicine after a Biomedical Science or Medical Neuroscience degree at Sussex

Application process overview

To begin the application process, you can submit your application and supporting documents for the International Foundation Year in Health, Medical and Life Sciences in January. You will also be asked to select a second degree aim from this route at this stage; should you not be successful in gaining a place in Medicine or Dental Surgery, you will be able to progress to your second choice (providing you have met the grades for progression).

Your application will be assessed; if initial requirements are met, you will receive a conditional offer. Offers will be conditional upon meeting the personal statement and interview requirements and taking the UCAT situational judgement test. You will not be able to confirm your place at this stage. Students will be invited to accept their place if successful during the application process.

Your application will be reviewed by our admissions team. If you are selected to progress in the application process, you will be requested to submit a personal statement. Guidance for this will be provided by our admissions team.

The Academic team at the International Study Centre will conduct interviews with all applicants between March and April. Students who are not successful at this stage will be counselled on their options.

The interview will cover:

  • Motivations to study chosen subject
  • Understanding of the subject
  • Academic background
  • Any voluntary/paid work experience
  • Experience of working in a team and taking responsibility
  • Hobbies and interests

Students must sit the UCAT situational judgement test to be eligible for the International Foundation Year. We don’t have a minimum threshold score; however, we may use UCAT scores as part of our selection process.

If successful in your interview, you will be invited to conditionally confirm your place subject to providing a qualified English test, providing highest qualification documentation and paying the deposit.As students are able to confirm conditionally, we will fill any places that become free from the waiting list.

You will enrol on the programme in September*.

*Please note that there is no January start for students aiming to study Medicine or Dental Surgery.

What you’ll study

During the International Foundation Year two-semester programme you will study a combination of academic modules, specific to your pathway, and compulsory modules.

You will study a total of seven modules and achieve 120 credits required in your chosen pathway to progress.

Core modules

Academic English Skills aims to provide thorough training in the language and related academic skills which will enable international students to best achieve their academic potential at university. Our Academic English programme is validated by UK ENIC, the UK government agency responsible for providing information and expert opinion on qualifications and skills worldwide.

You will develop awareness and competency in a range of language-related academic skills, including the processes of academic writing, effective and extensive reading strategies, effective participation in seminars and delivery of presentations, and listening to and recording information effectively from lectures. You will also develop the accuracy and range of written and spoken language required to use language effectively and appropriately, with clarity and confidence in an academic context.

Alongside your classes, your studies will be supported by an online learning platform, providing you with a range of tasks and activities specifically designed to develop and extend your language and academic skills outside the classroom and to give you more control over your own learning.

This module is designed specifically for aspiring medical students looking to secure a place at Brighton and Sussex Medical School (BSMS). It is aimed at equipping you with the essential knowledge, skills, and attitudes needed to meet the demands of medical education. From grasping the intricacies of the National Health System in England and ethical considerations in healthcare to fostering critical thinking, effective communication and reflective practices, this module ensures you confidently navigate the highly competitive medical school entry process and ensures you are fully prepared to confidently take on the challenges of being a medical student.

This module aims to provide a solid foundation in mathematics applicable across several disciplines including computing, engineering, life sciences and psychology. The module will develop your confidence in some of the basics such as algebra and calculus, which will prepare you for further study.

You will start your journey of exploration of the science of life in this module, where you will be studying the mysteries of life's fundamental components, such as carbohydrates, lipids, proteins, and nucleic acids while delving into the intricacies of cellular processes such as cellular respiration, DNA replication, gene expression, and cell division. You will gain practical expertise through engaging laboratory sessions and hone critical skills in academic writing, data analysis, and making observations.

Building upon the foundation laid in the previous module, "Biochemistry and Cell Biology," you will continue your scientific exploration in to study of life by delving into topics such as genetics, speciation, gene technology, ecology and human physiology in this module. Engaging in learning activities, you will develop essential skills in literature search, data handling, and academic writing, empowering you to excel in your studies at the University of Sussex and beyond.

This module aims to provide you with a good background knowledge in organic chemistry that will complement the study of the Biochemistry and Cell Biology module. It will develop your experience in essential techniques in the laboratory that will underpin your future studies. The module aims to develop critical thinking, promote independent study and research.

This module aims to provide you with a good understanding of fundamental concepts in physical chemistry and to develop experience of essential techniques in the laboratory that will underpin your future studies. The module aims to develop critical thinking, promote independent study and research.

Fees and Funding

For students starting Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (BM BS) in September 2023, the fees for international students are £42,000 per year. In subsequent years, fees for international students who start in 2024 will rise by 7% per year.

More Information
Students in cafe

How to apply

Ready to apply? Discover how to submit an application and learn more about fees, semester dates and entry requirements.

Sussex graduate smiling in Brighton

University of Sussex International Study Centre

Develop skills to change the world at the University of Sussex International Study Centre. Improve your English, develop your academic skills, and grow the confidence you need to succeed in your degree.

Sussex students studying together

English language courses

Improve your English skills with one of our Online English language courses designed to support international students studying a pathway programme at the International Study Centre.

Join us today

Our Student Enrolment Advisors are available to answer any questions you may have and help you with your application. We can't wait to meet you!